Aguayo, Winston Named Semifinalists for National Awards

Roberto Aguayo is a semifinalist for the Lou Groza award, while Jameis Winston is semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien award.

 Credit: Florida State Sports Information 

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State redshirt freshmen Roberto Aguayo and Jameis Winston were named semifinalists for national awards on Monday as the BCS No. 2-ranked Seminoles returned to practice following the 41-14 over No. 7/6 Miami.


Aguayo is one of 20 semifinalists for the 2013 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the Orange Bowl Committee. The Mascotte, Fla., native has yet to miss a kick this season, nailing all 12 of his field goal attempts and all 53 of his point-after tries. Aguayo’s 12 field goals and 65 total kicks are the most in the nation by a kicker yet to miss.


Semifinalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, past Groza finalists, and national and regional football writers to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 25th and honored at the 22nd annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet onDecember 10th in West Palm Beach, Florida. The winner will be announced live on ESPN at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 12th.

Winston is one of 16 semifinalists for the 2013 Davey O’Brien Award, given to the nation’s top quarterback.


The Bessemer, Ala., native leads the ACC and is second in the country with a passing efficiency of 201.1. He has thrown for 2,502 yards and 24 touchdowns this season and is a three-time Davey O’Brien National Quarterback of the Week award winner.


Fans may now help determine which three quarterbacks will advance as finalists by voting as often as once daily at Fan voting will close at noon (CT) on Nov. 24.


The three Davey O’Brien finalists will be announced on Monday, Nov. 25 and the 2013 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards airing Thursday, Dec. 12 on ESPN. The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held on Feb.17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *