Back-To-Back: Lady Rattler Cross Country Repeats Release

Credit: Florida A&M Sports Information


PRINCESS ANNE, MD (Oct.26) – Head coach Darlene Moore was a little anxious going into this year’s MEAC Cross Country Championship, but her team responded, giving the Lady Rattlers back-to-back MEAC titles. The Lady Rattlers had three runners to finish in the top fifteen, powering the team to a victory over the second place Morgan State Lady Bears.


Effiey Kosgei, led the Lady Rattlers taking second place overall just .8 seconds behind Morgan’s Ashley Seymour. Kosgei finished in 18.10.80 to earn All-MEAC. QuanDra Shanks took third place at 18:27.90 and Cynthia Chelelgo took eighth place in 18:45.80, both eaning All-MEAC honors.


Zenia George took 18th place in 19:31.80. She was followed by Chandelic Jackson who took 21st place in 19:36.40. These scores constituted the first five to cross for the tournament, giving the Lady Rattlers 52 points and another MEAC championship.


Rounding out the FAMU squad was Phyllis Cheruiyot (25th place, 19:57.50) and Ciera Williams (45th place, 20:58.80).


Moore was pleased to repeat as champions. “They say it’s harder to repeat than win the first one. I think it has to do with the pressure placed on a champion. I am proud of my young ladies for responding to the challenge. The MEAC is getting stronger all around us in cross country, so we have to continue to improve, and I thought our team did very well to run their race today. We are happy to bring this trophy back to campus for all our school to enjoy. I stress to our runners that when we compete, we are ambassadors for the university and we take it very seriously. This outcome represents what is expected of us when we put on that orange and green,” Moore concluded.


Moore was named the MEAC Oustanding Women’s Coach for the second consecutive time and this win represents her 14th championship title as a women’s cross country and track and field coach.


2013 MEAC Women’s Results
1. Florida A&M 52 points
2. Morgan State 57 points
3. Hampton 73 points
4. Norfolk State 84 points
5. Maryland Eastern Shore 163 points
6. South Carolina State 174 points
7. North Carolina Central 207 points
8. North Carolina A&T 214 points
9. Delaware State 228 points
10. Bethune-Cookman 232 points
11. Coppin State 284 points
12. Savannah State 312 points


2013 MEAC Women’s All-Conference Team (Top-15 finishers)
1. Ashley Seymour, Morgan State
2. Effiey Kosgei, Florida A&M
3. QuanDra Shanks, Florida A&M
4. Nichelle Harris, Hampton
5. Nynneya Columbus, Morgan State
6. Adugna Desalegn, Norfolk State
7. Rachel Webb, Norfolk State
8. Cynthia Chelelgo, Florida A&M
9. Ishakeema Swain, Morgan State
10. Amber Brooks, North Carolina Central
11. Devyn Thompson, Hampton
12. Faith Summy, Norfolk State
13. Kali Kendall, Morgan State
14. Janessa Benn, North Carolina A&T
15. Ce’Aira Brown, Hampton


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *