Fisher, Buckley to Compete in Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge

Tallahassee, Fla.- FSU Head Coach Fisher and former FSU cornerback Terrell Buckley will both be battling it out on April 29 – May 1 in the sixth annual Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament.

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event will be held April 29 – May 1 at the Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta.

Fisher and Buckley won the event in 2010. They will join three other former winning teams in the featured round including 2011 tournament champions Paul Johnson and Jon Barry of Georgia Tech, two-time winners Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from South Carolina who won the event in 2008 and 2009, and Frank Beamer and Dell Curry from Virginia Tech who won in 2007. A 16-team field of NCAA head coaches and celebrity alumni are set to compete.

Other top national coaches expected to be on hand are Urban Meyer, Nick Saban and many others who will hit the links, all vying for their share of the $520,000 scholarship purse for their respective universities. In the past five years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided $2.55 million in scholarship and charitable contributions.

Over the three-day event, several tournament rounds will be played in addition to the featured, televised round of coaches and celebrities. The complete field of head coaches, professional golfers, former athletes and celebrities includes four NFL Hall of Famers, two Heisman Trophy winners, 15 national Coaches of the Year, three gold medalists, and professional golfers who have earned eight professional tour majors wins, 151 total tour wins and more than $80 million in earnings.

“As college football’s most charitable bowl game, this event is enormously important to us in terms of what we can give back to our partner conferences and universities,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president and CEO. “At this year’s event, we will surpass the $3 million mark in charity and scholarship donations as we continue to grow the field and donations each year with the help of some of the best college coaches in the nation.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *