Florida State Selected To Host Regionals

May 27, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced 16 regional sites for the 66th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. Florida State University was selected as a regional host for the 29th time in school history. The four-team regional will begin on Friday, June 1 on Mike Martin Field inside Dick Howser Stadium.

The national top eight seeds are Florida (42-18), UCLA (42-14), Florida State (43-15), Baylor (44-14), Oregon (42-17), North Carolina (44-14), LSU (43-16) and South Carolina (40-17).

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with eight, while the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) has seven institutions. The Pacific-12 has five and the Big 12 and Conference USA each has four selected.

Making the tournament for the first time are Dayton of the Atlantic 10 Conference and Samford of the Southern Conference. Overall, 37 of the 64 teams were in the field last year.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 1 to Monday, June 4.

The 66th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.



• Thirty-seven of the 64 teams were in the 2011 field. Two teams are making the field for the first time in the program’s history: Dayton and Samford.

• Five teams are making the field for the first time in over 25 years. Valparaiso last made the field in 1968; Cornell last made the field in 1977; Michigan State last made the field in 1979; Appalachian State last made the field in 1986; Purdue last made the field in 1987.

• Miami (Fla.) is in the field for the 40th consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 35th appearance in a row, which ranks second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks include Cal St. Fullerton (21), Rice (18) and Oral Roberts (15).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *