Four Rattlers Earn MEAC Football Honors as Top Performers

By: Franchise Sports Staff

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. ( – Four Rattlers earned Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference honors as top performers this week. Florida A&M dropped their second straight game as the University of Oklahoma handed the Rattlers, 69-13 defeat on last Saturday, Sept. 8 at the Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium.

After the Rattlers last game, WR Travis Harvey, OL Zerrie Patterson, DB Jonathan Pillow and K Chase Varnadore all made MEAC Top Performance Honors this week.

  • Travis Harvey caught four passes for 118 yards with one touchdown in a loss to Oklahoma.
  • Zerrie Patterson graded out at 86-percent of his assignments and notched three pancake blocks as he aided the Rattler’s with 235 yards of total offense.
  • Jonathan Pillow recorded a career-high 13 tackles, 10 solo, against Oklahoma.
  • Chase Varnadore nailed two field goals from 41 and 46 yards out and connected on one PAT in the Rattlers matchup against Oklahoma.

Travis Harvey, a 6-2 senior wide out is emerging as the Rattlers top receiver, according to officials. In two games, Harvey recorded 170 yards on 10 catches with two TDs with his longest reception being for 75 yards. Against Tennessee State, Harvey recorded two catches for 52 yards with one TD, following week against No.4 Oklahoma; Harvey tallied four catches for 118 yards with one TD with his longest reception being for 75 yards, the longest by any FAMU receiver against an FBS opponent.

In two games, Jonathan Pillow has tallied 17 tackles as he recorded a career high 13 tackles against OU last weekend.

Other notable players is running back Eddie Rocker, who serves as the Rattlers leading rusher as he has rushed for 124 yards in two carries, averaging 5.9 yards per carry.

The Rattlers (0-2) will take on Hampton University (0-2) in their home opener, on Saturday, Sept. 15. A win will give FAMU their first conference win of the season, along with their first win of the 2012 season.

Kickoff will be 6 p.m. for the game which will be held at the Bragg Memorial Stadium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *