FSU Announces 2012 Schedule

April 24, 2012

Tallahassee, Fla. – Florida State University and the Seminole Soccer program announced on Monday, April 23 the schedule for the 2012 season. 

The Seminoles will open the season with three straight road matches before finally returning to Tallahassee for their home opener against intra-state rival Florida on Friday, August 31.

“The goal every year is to compete for a national championship and we feel that we have put together a very challenging schedule with some early tests on the road that will help prepare our team both physically and mentally,” said head coach Mark Krikorian.

Over the last decade, the Florida State soccer program has ranked among the nation’s best and 2012 won’t be any different as the Seminoles will look to defend their ACC title and make a return trip to the College Cup.  With Krikorian back for his eighth season in Tallahassee and seven returning starters from a squad that finished ranked No. 3 in the nation last year, the quest for that first national championship begins Friday, August 17 in Minnesota against the Golden Gophers.  

“We look forward to another challenging year in the ACC,” added Krikorian.  “We had nine teams from our league qualify for the NCAA Tournament and three schools that advanced to the College Cup. The ACC is the best soccer conference in the nation and we feel that the non-conference portion of our schedule will help prepare us to face a very tough conference slate.”

Here is a look at the complete 2012 Florida State soccer schedule:

Friday, August 17 – at Minnesota, 8:00 p.m.

Sunday, August 19 – at Marquette, 2:00 p.m.

Friday, August 24 – at UCF, 7:00 p.m.

Friday, August 31 – Florida, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 2 – College of Charleston, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, September 7 – Cal State Fullerton, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 9 – at Arkansas, 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 13 – Duke, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 16 – Wake Forest, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, September 21 – Jackson State, 5:00 p.m.

Thursday, September 27 – at North Carolina, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, September 30 – at NC State, 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 4 – Clemson, 7:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 11 – Virginia Tech, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 14 – Virginia, 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 18 – at Boston College, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 21 – at Maryland, 1:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 25 – at Miami, 7:00 p.m.

Sunday, October 28 – First Round ACC Tournament**campus site of higher seed

Friday – Sunday, November 2 & 4 – ACC Tournament (Cary, N.C. – WakeMed Soccer Park)

**All match times are EST** (Bold denotes home match) –www.seminoles.com–

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *