Lady Rattlers Fall 2-1 To Wildcats in MEAC Tourney

By Florida A&M Athletics

ORMOND BEACH, FL (May 12) – Bethune-Cookman scored two runs in the bottom of the second inning to hold on for a 2-1 win over the Florida A&M Softball Team to win the 2012 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Softball Championship, here Saturday afternoon at the Ormond Beach Softball Complex.

Both teams finished with five hits each in a pitcher’s duel.

FAMU (28-29) was led by Tenisha Dixon as she tallied two hits to lead the Lady Rattlers, while Sabrina Ferguson finished with two hits to lead the Wildcats.

Shanel Tolbert(30-24) pitched her fourth consecutive complete game in the tournament and her 36th overall on the year as she picked up the win, giving up five hits, one earned run and struck out five in seven complete innings of work.
Jennifer Lindsey (16-9) received the loss for the Lady Rattlers as she made her fifth straight appearance on the mound for FAMU as she tallied 34 innings pitched in the 2012 MEAC Tourney including a pair of extra innings games against Coppin State (11 Innings pitched) and Norfolk State(10 innings pitched). Lindsey pitched five innings, allowing five hits, two earned runs and struck out two in the 24 batters she faced.
FAMU grabbed the early lead as Tera Gainer singled to left side scoring Jasmin Donaldson, giving the Lady Rattlers a 1-0 lead in the top of the first inning.

B-CU (30-29) would score two runs in the bottom of the second inning as Cesley Tafoya singled down the leftfield line scoring both Sabrina Ferguson and Shamyra Engram for the 2-1 win.

B-CU wins their third consecutive MEAC Championship and their eighth overall. FAMU holds the record for the most MEAC Titles with nine. The Wildcats are the second team in conference history to win consecutive championships as they won five straight from 2000 to 2004 and again from 2010 to 2012.

FAMU is the only other team in conference history that has won consecutive MEAC Championships as the Lady Rattlers three-peated twice in the 1990’s, winning the conference tournament from 1993 to 1995 and again from 1997 to 1999.

There have only been three other MEAC schools to win the MEAC Softball Championship: Hampton (1996), Howard (2007) and Delaware State (2008).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *